Iran imposes sanctions on 14 US individuals, entities

In a statement, the ministry said that the targeted people and entities have also committed acts against human rights, provoked terrorism in Iran, countered anti-terror efforts by the Islamic Republic, and piled up pressure on the Iranian nation, which amounts to economic terrorism.

According to the statement, the sanctions were imposed in accordance with legislation “Countering Human Rights Violations and Adventurous and Terrorist Acts of The United States in The Region” ratified by the Iranian parliament on August 13, 2017.

The statement said that those sanctioned will not be granted visas to enter Iran. Their assets will be frozen on Iranian territory, and their bank accounts will be blocked within Iran’s banking and financial system.

The sanctioned American individuals are as follow:

Michael Erik Kurilla, Commander of US Central Command (Centcom)

Gregory M. Guillot, Centcom Deputy Commander  

Scott Desormeaux, Commander of US airbase in Iraq’s Erbil

Juan Zarate, chairman of the Center on Economic and Financial Power of the Foundation for Defense of Democracies, and head of the American Enterprise Institute

Mark Wallace, CEO of United Against Nuclear Iran (UANI)

Wally Adeyemo, Deputy Secretary of the Treasury  

Alexus Grynkewich, Commander of the US Ninth Air Force

Anne Neuberger, Deputy National Security Advisor for Cyber and Emerging Technology in the Biden Administration

Isaac Johnson, Commanding General of U.S. Army Civil Affairs and Psychological Operations Command

Brian Nelson: the Treasury’s Under Secretary for Terrorism and Financial Intelligence

The sanctioned entities are as follow:

United Against Nuclear Iran (UANI)

The Central Intelligence Agency (CIA)

The US Ninth Air Force

The United States National Guard

The Iranian Foreign Ministry in October also imposed sanctions on a number of British entities and individuals over the recent riots and unrest in Iran.

The unrest followed the death of young woman Mahsa Amini.


Follow us on Twitter @DayliNews_ir

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *